32 Virtuosos. 1 Passion.
Next Competition July 2020

2016 Jurors

Our panel of nine international jurors bring their expertise to the Competition

← Return to 2016 Competition


Nine members, making up the full jury, have now been appointed for the 2016 Sydney International Piano Competition. The jury will be headed by Artistic Director Piers Lane, who is a non-voting member. He will be joined by Chinese pianist Sa Chen, Russian born Nikolai Demidenko, British Hamish Milne, Japanese Noriko Ogawa, Serbian/Australian/Italian Mira Yevtich, American Orli Shaham, Polish Ewa Kupiec and Australians, Carl Vine and Timothy Walker.

The jurors

Sa Chen


Over the past decade, Chen has established herself as one of the most charismatic pianists...

read more Sa Chen

Nikolai Demidenko


Nikolai Demidenko’s passionate virtuosity and musicianship has brought him worldwide recognition. He is renowned for...

read more Nikolai Demidenko

Ewa Kupiec


Ewa Kupiec, born in Duszniki-Zdroj, Poland, studied in Katowice, the Chopin Academy in Warsaw and...

read more Ewa Kupiec

Hamish Milne

United Kingdom

One of Britain’s leading pianists, Hamish Milne was born and grew up in Salisbury of...

read more Hamish Milne

Noriko Ogawa


Noriko Ogawa has achieved considerable renown throughout the world since her success at the Leeds...

read more Noriko Ogawa

Orli Shaham

United States of America

A consummate musician recognised for her grace, subtlety and brilliance, Orli Shaham has established an...

read more Orli Shaham

Carl Vine AO


Carl Vine AO is one of Australia's best known and often performed composers, with a...

read more Carl Vine AO

Timothy Walker AM

Australia/United Kingdom

Timothy Walker AM is the Chief Executive and Artistic Director of the London Philharmonic Orchestra. He...

read more Timothy Walker AM

Mira Yevtich


Mira Yevtich was born in Belgrade and started playing the Piano when she was three...

read more Mira Yevtich